I’ve been thinking about who I would ask to write my recommendations this time around.  When I applied to HBS last year, I had to rustle up three recommenders.  I asked two former work supervisors and a current supervisor in an extra-curricular activity.  Now, my current boss (I work in government) knows that I plan on going to b-school, and I’ve already asked him and another upper-level individual I’ve worked on numerous projects with for a recommendation. 

My question is:  Can I really ask these two people to do four or more recommendations (potentially eight depending on my own stamina and how things go)?   It seems like a lot, especially because all the recommendation forms are unique and though they may overlap in substance a bit, they’re still pretty different.  Even though I think these two individuals can really offer the best insight into my current performance, should I ask people who are farther back in my past just to spread out the burden?